Watch Project X

Even though Chris Hewitt called it “possibly the worst film of the last 20 years. It’s certainly the worst comedy of the last 20 years”, I couldn’t disagree more. The bonkers movie which tells of three teenage guys who have the biggest, most ridiculous house party of their lives which ends in virtually the whole street being singed to a crisp, was laugh-out-loud stuff. Perhaps it is only funny for those of us young enough to appreciate it – I’m not sure my mum would enjoy one second of a film where a beautifully designed house ends up being drenched in water from circling helicopters. Nor would my dad appreciate the comedy in the priceless Audi ending up at the bottom of the swimming pool. Or the little person who was put in the oven. Or the dog who was attached to hundreds of helium balloons, so much so that he began to float above the garage.

But for my group of friends and I, I think the beauty of the movie came from the fact that you sort of felt like you were there, if you know what I mean. And even better, you weren’t drunk so you could laugh in total, sober glee at the stupid antics of teenagers like ourselves. And there was no cleaning up at the end of the night. In fact, I think the film sends out a pretty good message, because after seeing Project X, I sure as hell am never holding a party at my own house.

