Be An Obsessive Compulsive Magazine Hoarder

Image

After watching endless ‘Hoarder’ programmes – Obsessive Compulsive Hoarder on Channel 4 to name but one – I looked over to the corner of my bedroom and for a moment wondered whether I too had a degree of the disorder within me. There, so innocent looking, is a huge pile of fashion magazines, mainly Vogue and Elle. It reminded me of Carrie in SATC who said: “When I first moved to New York and I was totally broke, sometimes I would buy Vogue instead of dinner. I felt it fed me more”.

Now obviously I’m not in the position of having to sacrifice food for fashion, however there is something wonderful about receiving a monthly magazine in the post – thanks to Mum’s subscription-Christmas-present – which makes you never want to throw it away. Its so glossy and colourful and filled with promises of better fashion, better beauty because the models inside are so gorgeous that you think, for one minute, that you could possibly look like them if you follow the fashion-magazine-bible to the letter. I definitely have a little bit of OCD: I can’t bend the pages and if anyone else wants to borrow a magazine, they have to abide by these rules as well. I like to keep them in as pristine condition as when they arrive. Weird I know. And there is the ritual: the making of tea, perhaps accompanied by some biscuits, and then the settling down – with the right amount of allotted time – to devour the magazine and absorb every page.

