Wish I Was A Stylish Traveller

We all have fantasies when we stride through the airport that we are another person, with another, more glamorous life. So dress the part and you might find yourself ushered into the first class lounge or, better still, upgraded. Rumour has it that upgrades are determined by the look of the passenger. Look expensive. Wear sunglasses on your head, hook your handbag into the crook of your arm and assume an expression of nonchalance. Only do this in airports or designer boutiques. Nowhere else will you be taken seriously.

At this time of year I always feel nostalgic for holidays gone by, hours spent lazing in the sun doing nothing but watching my skin turn a warm shade of golden while reading a good book and occasionally going in the pool or sea. When the sky is grey and the rain is pouring down in sheets, I can do nothing but dream of scorching sunshine and shorts and sunglasses and suncream and siestas!

This train of thought then leads me to recall the exciting moment when the alarm clock strikes some unearthly hour and we have to get up in the darkness to head off to the airport. I was talking to my friend the other evening, and we were laughing over how we both always wish we could be the glamour-pusses you read about in chick-flick novels: turning up at the airport, no matter that it is 5am, with perfectly polished makeup, not a hair out of place and donned in a fashionable outfit shrouded in delicious layer of pashmina. Not trakkies, dark circles under the eyes and a temper that is hanging by a thread.

This quote, from Things a Woman Should Know About Style by Karen Homer, made me laugh to myself because it is so universal and sounds so familiar. Before I next go on holiday, I’m going to read and re-read this quote and hopefully channel my inner airport fashionista!

