Compare Liz Earle & Kora Organics

After writing the article about Therese and Miranda Kerr for my university newspaper, I was lucky enough to be sent a few products from the Kora Organics range as a thank you from Therese. (If you don’t know, Kora Organics is the skincare range produced by supermodel Miranda Kerr, with her mother Therese as manager, whose main focus is organic and making sure skincare doesn’t contain any ‘nasties’: artificial and synthetic flavours and colours). Anyway, I didn’t expect the delivery at all, especially since Therese is located thousands of miles away in Oz! However, a few weeks after the article came out, a little package of tiffany-blue delights turned up on my doorstep, and when I came home from university last week I started to try them out.

Now, for the past 18 months or so I have been using Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish cleanser and I have to say it is brilliant. It’s natural ingredients and subtle scent left my skin smooth and glowing and was perfect to use before the Liz Earle moisturiser for Dry skin. I can’t really say much more about it, other than that I never really saw the point of cleanser until I began using Liz Earle. Now I totally get the hype. It not only removes make up and doesn’t sting my eyes, but clears away the dead skin cells and grime, while still being gentle on any skin type.

So, I was quite happy with my cleanser until Therese’s delivery arrived, which included the Kora Organics Cream Cleanser. As both cleansers are so similar in looks, I thought I should do a comparison between these seemingly similar products.

Ingredients in Liz Earle’s Cleanse & Polish Cleanser: Cocoa butter, Hops extract, Rosemary essential oil, Chamomile essential oil, Eucalyptus essential oil and Beeswax to name but a few.

Ingredients in Kora Organics Cream Cleanser: Noni extract, Aloe, Sandalwood,  Rose hip, Avocado and Macadamia nut oils to name but a few.

They are both brilliant products because they are both organic. Kora Organics products are plant derived and use certified organic ingredients that comply with the natural and organic cosmetic ingredient standards. Liz Earle uses “Jennifer Hirsch, In-house Botanist, who researches sustainable, fairly traded ingredients from sources that support local ecosystems, ensuring their impact on the environment is as minimal as possible.”

One difference between Kora Organics and Liz Earle is the ingredient ‘Noni’ which is included in the Kora products. Noni provides a potent anti-oxidant to protect from environmental damage and lifestyle. It’s been used in Polynesia for over 2000 years for its beneficial properties and is thought to help a whole host of health issues plus boost energy and improve skin condition. Miranda swears by Noni, which she uses everyday and believes that its nutritional properties give her the energy she needs and helps keep her skin in fabulous condition.

Another slight difference with the Kora products, is that they have inspiring words printed on the back of each item. The word on the cleanser is acceptance and other words include thoughtfulness and kindness.

As for what’s inside the turquoise containers? The Kora cleanser is creamier than Liz Earle and has a very lovely fragrance, stronger than Liz Earle’s. It’s slightly darker in colour and rubs into the skin very well. Liz Earle’s cleanser is an off-white colour and is a little more solid than Kora.

All in all, both products are brilliant and produce the same excellent results. It’s just a shame that Kora Organics is so much more pricey than Liz Earle at the moment, since it has to be shipped from Oz. But Therese assured me that soon they will be stocking in countries including the UK. Yippee! So, until Kora Organics comes to England, and once my lovely gifts from Therese have run out, I will carry on using Liz Earle. However, if you can afford Kora Organics go ahead and check it out. It’s great. And while you’re there check out the article I wrote about Kora Organics and Miranda Kerr here!

