Go Against The Grain

Image

Last week I went to see Prometheus. Or Promethe-sucks as it shall be known from here on out. I can’t bear it when this happens – there is huge hype about a movie, it looks like it is using hundreds of millions of dollars to produce fantastic CGI effects and even has Charlize Theron of the harrowing, yet brilliant, ‘Monster’ in the cast. And to add to that, it’s receiving rave reviews. So you get yourself excited, pay EIGHT POUNDS! Eight! Because, of course, it’s 3D so that bumps the cost of the ticket up and settle yourself in your seat ready for a couple of hours of jaw-dropping cinematic excellence.

Two hours pass and you leave the cinema feeling deflated, puzzled and unsatisfied. Storyline after storyline is left unexplained, there are moments when characters get from A to B and you have no idea how because it isn’t shown and to be honest I have no idea what Charlize Theron was doing there. Nor Michael Fassbender for that matter. I felt they are worth far more than that movie offered. It was a movie made purely so that another has to be made. There has to be a sequel because the entire thing was one big question mark. Even more confusing, is that it is very highly rated on website Rotten Tomatoes which is usually pretty good at distinguishing the good movies from the bad. Not this time.

Movies that I am looking forward to this summer are:

Image

Mila Kunis and a cheeky, big furry teddy bear – what more could you want? The trailer looks hilarious.

Image

This hasn’t come out in the UK yet but I cannot wait!! I loved the other Spider Man movies and newcomers Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone look like the perfect match. I can’t wait to see how Garfield differs to Toby Maguire.

And finally

Image

I saw this advertised when I went to see Promethe-sucks and it shows a different side of Matthew McConaughey to what we’ve seen in chick-flicks such as Fools Gold and How To Lose A Guy In 10 Days.

