Have A Revelation About Faddy Diets

You can have your Pimms and drink it!

It’s the word that haunts women the world over and sends a little shiver down my spine. I hate it’s connotations and I hate that it may as well be coined ‘time to deprive yourself silly’. The word diet’ is certainly one of the most-said words (by women) on the planet. However, it wasn’t until I went to university that I had a revelation about diets. Before then, I had gained a little weight after coming back from travelling and was fixated on losing the pounds. I was researching every diet going. The Dukan diet, the Juice Diet, the Orange-only diet, the 1200-calorie a day diet, even Diet Chef, which I ordered some of and that set me back nearly 200 quid. 

It was madness I say, madness. I was so obsessed with any ‘diet’ going that the worst possible thing happened. I slowly gained more weight. How, you ask? Well, because I was worrying so much about food, I ended up gorging at work (I work in a cafe that serves the most delicious, organic cakes/sandwiches/food full stop) and after I came home, constantly telling myself that tomorrow I would start one of the ridiculous diets I had researched and would severely limit my calorie intake so the thousands of calories I was consuming at the time wouldn’t count. Sandwiches, scrumptious dinners, crisps and chocolate became the centre of my universe. I hated the way my skin was becoming that little bit too flabby but I told myself it was all worth it because of how marvellous my taste buds felt.

It was weird. It seemed that because I was telling myself ‘you so shouldn’t be doing this’, I just wanted more. My clothes got considerably tighter and I resented myself. I was eating too much food and I didn’t really know how to get myself out of the vicious cycle I had put myself in. Thankfully, an opportunity to do just that came in the form of university. Oddly, some may say, because usually uni is associated with huge weight-gain due to excessive beer pong and takeaways. However, once my attention was taken away from working in a cafe and eating good food all day long, my thoughts about my diet began to vanish. Naturally, other things took over my life, like meeting new people, going out and seeing the new city I had inhabited and having a good time. Of course I was drinking a lot of alcohol and eating at odd hours, but I seemed to learn to only eat when I was actually hungry.

Since university, I have never denied myself bagels or crisps or chips or chocolate, it’s just that I’m not eating loads of them all the time. I’ll have a delicious bagel lathered in Boursin when I get peckish and that’s just fine. It’s just that I’m no longer sitting down with a bagel and crisps to idly eat in front of the television before dinner time, which is usually an army-sized portion of risotto or spaghetti, knowing Mum.

I used to hate it when people said ‘when I stopped thinking about losing weight I actually lost weight!’ but it is so true. Of course, if you are very dedicated and have a lot of will power, any ‘diet’ is possible but they rarely last. ‘Diet’ is a horrible word because in truth, all you really need to do is have things in moderation. Don’t eat when you’re not hungry. Obviously I don’t always abide by this, sometimes I just fancy chocolate and there’s nothing anyone can say or do to stop me. But focussing on something other than your ‘diet’ is sometimes exactly what your body needs. I use the cross-trainer during my holidays from university now and then, but recently that has dwindled somewhat, however I still seem to have maintained some weight loss. Food no longer controls me – I control it. I love food, and I eat whatever I want when I want. I have just somehow learnt the miraculous method of ditching the diets and actually listening to what my body needs.

