Not Give Up On The Job Hunt

So far in my life, I have been lucky enough, for one reason or another, not to have to search for too long before I’ve been offered a job. I’ve managed to get jobs in cafes and restaurants from the age of 16, and have never had to really give out all that many CVs and suffer the horrible feeling of waiting and waiting for a callback…and never receiving one. However, my luck has run out and I am now handing out CVs every week with no success as yet. I am trying not to get too disheartened because I do really need the cash and trying to stay positive is my only option right now. But it does seem difficult when some horrible cow in a furniture shop (with not the nicest of items I might add) doesn’t even raise her eyes from the desk she’s at, and barks at you “No, if you’re a student don’t even bother because all you students can only do Friday, Saturday, Sunday and this is a Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday job” despite the fact that it said ‘Part-time sales assistants required’. I did inform her that I could work Wednesdays too but this didn’t seem to make any difference. She was vile, but actually, for once (as I am usually quite sensitive about these kinds of things) it didn’t bother me and I strolled out with my head held high and handed out more CVs.

It’s easy to give up and think sod it, no-one will want me anyway because no-one’s called so far… but beggars cant be choosers and if you don’t try, you’ll never know. It can be a bit embarrassing or awkward going into a shop and asking if you can leave your CV, but to be honest, 99% of the time, the staff are lovely and smiley and are happy to take your CV. If you give off the same vibes, it can bode well and they may just remember you and you never know…you might get an interview. So, after another afternoon of CV-giving-out I am keeping my fingers, toes, arms, legs, eyes crossed that I’ll hear something positive from someone because, frankly, I need a bit of spare cash to sustain this lavish (ha!) student lifestyle!

