Work In Tesco

Unglamorous & a little soul-destroying after a while. Or at least that was my experience. However, I did learn one very valuable lesson out of the experience. That I didn’t want to end up working there for ever. More than ever, I had motivation and reason to go to university and make the most of all the opportunities I was lucky enough to have. Some of the people I worked with, had taken a job up at Tesco thinking they would only be there a few months – a year tops – just enough time to figure out what they wanted to do, and earn some cash while they did so. And that was eight/six/five/two years ago for them. One lovely guy, Dan, told me he wished he had gone to university. He hadn’t wanted to, had been too lazy/disillusioned to pursue anything else and said that getting his first job at Tesco seven years ago seemed like a good idea at the time. Instead, he had gotten caught in a rut, a trap – the only excitement he experienced in his working life was moving from one Tesco to another when he got transferred. He told me he was jealous of me, and wished he could have his life over again – and he said he wasn’t sure how the hell he was going to get out of stacking shelves in a supermarket when that was all he really had to put on his CV.

I’m not for one moment putting down working at a supermarket. I have done it myself, and if needs be, I would do it again. It just made me realise what I didn’t want to do with my life. And while some people rise through the ranks and end up as very well paid managers of different branches, others don’t really progress at all and stay as Customer Assistants (what I was, the basic position) for years and years. For me, it was disheartening to think that lovely Dan will be working at Tesco into old age. The cold fridge of a place that I worked in froze my fingers as well as my mind, and as I served rude people and stacked low-fat humous onto a shelf, I could only dream of the day I could quit my job and get started with the career/life I hope will come to fruition someday.

 

