See The Rolling Stones

Just before the Stones came on!

Just before the Stones came on!

It feels absolutely electric. As my boyfriend and I excitedly ate our Mcdonalds on the train up to London, we had an earphone each and listened to almost every track The Stones have ever done and squrimed with anticipation at the night ahead. My lovely Mum and Dad met us at the o2 arena (which we nearly didn’t get to because some selfish person decided to jump onto the tracks that evening – and yes, I do think its selfish to commit suicide that way not only for your family, but for the train driver who will probably never work nor sleep properly again, and for the thousands and thousands of commuters whose evening you bugger up). Anyhoo, after we made it in one piece to the o2, we met my parents and had a drink and a catch up.

The Sunday before, the Rolling Stones had over run by half an hour or so and were fined $100,000 (pocket change for them!), however they didn’t want to do that again so made sure they arrived on time and got in every song they wanted to before they were shut down for the curfew. My boyfriend is the BIGGEST Rolling Stones fan in the world – and was majorly excited. I have started listening to lots of their songs in the last few months, but if I’m honest, you didn’t need to know every word to enjoy the gig. It was incredible. Mick Jagger’s dance moves were as cool as ever and I even found myself fancying the legend that is Keith Richards a little bit – and I don’t think that’s right somehow. Florence Welch came on for a song, as did Eric Clapton and the old guitarist from the band Mick Taylor. You wouldn’t have known these guys were pushing 70 – with Charlie Watts already 71 – because they had full heads of hair and were dancing and singing like crazy people. I think my favourite song was ‘You Can’t Always Get What You Want’, which had a choir to start off the song. It was beautifully done and was played at the very end of the concert, just before the last two songs: ‘Jumping Jack Flash’ and ‘Satisfaction.’ It certainly felt like I was in the presence of greatness – and I don’t think many people will ever get to see them do that again. It’s most definitely a ‘once in a lifetime’ opportunity – and I’m so glad I got to share it with my eternally generous parents and my Rolling Stones Superfan boyfriend. It was magical when they played the old clips of all the young girls and boys, 30, 40, 50 years ago jumping onto the stages and trying to grab Mick and Keith. It’s the equivalent to the way Justin Beiber is treated today, however I think The Stones are much worthier of such treatment. As Johnny Depp said in a video clip before the show started: “It’s great music to do bad things to.”

