Receive A Hamster

Courtesy of weheart.com

Courtesy of weheartit.com

Normally, I hate hamsters. I don’t see the point of them – they dont really give much back in terms of love and they bite you. That was my limited experience of hamsters up until two weeks ago, when my boyfriend decided to surprise me with a hamster for our one year anniversary. Before you gasp in shock and ask – why not some nice jewellery, fool?! – the thought was there. He knows how much I love little baby animals and at university it’s not fair to have a kitten, so, in reality, the next best bet was a hamster. Rather than jewellery, she’s a little living, breathing creature that has created a memory for us to share. I certainly won’t forget our first anniversary in a hurry.

Courtesy of anicelittle.tmblr.com

Courtesy of anicelittle.tmblr.com

The little hammy is called Sacha and she has created non-stop laughter for my housemate Saskia and I. She has attitude – hasn’t bitten me (yet!) and swings along the roof of her cage like a little monkey. I was crying with laughter the other evening at her James Bond-esque action. And, in terms of cleaning her out and topping up her food – it’s really very simple. She’s easy as pie. And as for the random photo above? Well, that’s just for added cuteness…and, hopefully, a little idea for the boyfriend for the next anniversary…

