Not Sweat The Small Stuff

I was unsure whether to title this post ‘Not sweat the small stuff’ or [How does it feel to] “Get Over It”. My reason for this blog post is that all too often I think we get caught up in the little things in life and let them niggle away and get to us when they really shouldn’t matter. I’ve written in the past about how I am prone to unnecessarily worry here and here. Whether it’s something as small as coming down in the morning to find the sink full of dirty dishes or something that feels far more personal like taking something someone said far too seriously and playing it over and over in your mind until it drives you crazy – whatever it is, sometimes we really need to step back and realise that if we can, taking a ‘dont sweat the small stuff’ attitude not only helps ourselves immensely but it helps the entire situation. If you can take this approach and stop things from festering within, then you are far happier and content on the outside. It sounds cheesy but it’s true. Negative energy attracts negative energy and it is 10x more effort to be pissed off and angry with the world than just to get over whatever it is that’s niggling at you, and face everything with a clear mind. It sounds odd, but whenever something shitty happens to me (usually something very insignificant, first world problem, you know the kind) then I use the analogy that I am slicing away that part of my day and discarding it. It’s in the past, in no longer matters, and even if it is 2pm in the afternoon and I’m half way through my day, I can start it anew. Give this approach a go, it really helps.

