Make The Tastiest Toastie

Being a student, gourmet food isn’t something I eat all that often. Well, except for the occasions when I deludedly think that my student loan is limitless and eat out at restaurants like I’m some kind of high flying banker, err hello?! Anyway, my point is that I tend to eat the same food when I am at home and one of my best ‘dishes’ so to speak, is my Tuna Melt. It is epic — some say it is life changing. And last night when I was over at my boyfriend’s house and his female housemates said they had never made a toastie and certainly never really eaten a fantastic homemade tuna melt, I decided that this could not go on any longer. I have promised them that I will excite their taste buds, but in the meantime I am going to put up the recipe to my delicious toastie on here. You may wonder why I am bothering to do this as it is so simple, but after learning last night that some people have never contemplated making one and aren’t sure what exactly to put in, I realised that I had to share my secret with the world!

All you need is:

2 slices of white/brown bread

1 can of tuna

1/2 can of sweetcorn

A few good squeezes of mayonnaise

A handful of grated cheese (whichever you fancy) – or if you’re out of that a crumbling of goats cheese or feta works well too

Salt & Pepper

A toastie machine/George Foreman grill

Prepare your machine of choice

Prepare your machine of choice

tuna1

Empty a can of tuna into a mixing bowl

Add 1/2 can of sweetcorn (or less if you prefer) and a good few squeezes of mayo

Add 1/2 can of sweetcorn (or less if you prefer) and a good few squeezes of mayo

Add some grated cheese

Add some grated cheese

Drizzle some olive oil onto the top of the sandwich and spread it with the back of a spoon

Drizzle some olive oil onto the top of the sandwich and spread it with the back of a spoon

Leave for about 5-8 minutes in the toastie machine

Leave for about 5-8 minutes in the toastie machine

tuna7

Now it may not look like much, but trust me when I say that it is delicious. It is great if you haven’t got much food in the cupboard and it will always satisfy and fill you up nicely. Make it for a friend or when you are hungover — you won’t regret it.

 

 

