Have A Love Affair With Jo Malone

jo

Thanks to my Mum, I have known about Jo Malone for many years. I think it started around ten years ago or so, maybe even before then, when she would ask for a special Jo Malone fragrance every birthday and Christmas. I asked her why she loved these perfumes so, and she told me that before she recieved them as gifts, she used to treat herself to going to the beautiful shop in Walton Street (the very first one) and peruse all the lovely items. During Christmas time, there would be a queue round the block – smartly dressed husbands clutching little bits of paper with their wives favourite fragrance scrawled across it.

jo2

I’ve always loved the story of how Jo Malone came to be – before it was bought by Estee Lauder…before the world knew about it. She worked as a florist and gave facials in her kitchen at night. When she met her husband Gary at the age of 19, their business, featuring her handmade scents and products, took off. She gave her Nutmeg and Ginger Bath Oil as a thank you to her clients and the orders began to flood in. To this day, the brand’s signature cream packaging with black edging remains iconic today.

My Mum has always had these perfumes on her dressing table, and when I was younger I flirted with fragrances such as Gucci Guilty and YSL Parisienne. However, I always got bored of these after about five or six months. It wasn’t until my Mum bought me a smaller version of the fragrance my Dad actually likes to wear (Dark Amber and Ginger Lily), which is a unisex fragrance, that I decided I would stick to Jo Malone from now on. I currently have three little bottles of perfume: Dark Amber and Ginger Lily, Bluebell and Blackberry & Bay, and I mix and match each week and I am never sick of the smell. I constantly get complimented on what I’m wearing and the glass bottles look gorgeous lined up on my shelf. Jo Malone, I love you.

Wild Bluebell

Wild Bluebell

Dark Amber and Ginger Lily

Dark Amber and Ginger Lily

Blackberry & Bay

Blackberry & Bay

