See The World Through A Child’s Eyes

Crazy face-masked-lady

Crazy face-masked-lady

Okay so I look more like one of the seven dwarves here, however it’s the attitude that counts. Ever since reading Sprinkle of Glitter’s piece ‘Change’ which you can read here, I have been thinking about the way in which we can look at the world a little differently if we attempt to look at it as though we are young once again. And by this, I mean finding beauty in things that would normally just pass us by, or enjoying the very simplest of pleasures like a home cooked meal and friends/family for company. By doing this, we open ourselves up to seeing a lot more good in the world, and in people too.

I think I have quite a young approach to life anyway, I find some of the most mundane/random things cute/sweet/interesting/beautiful/worth-a-mention and will always stop to look at somebody’s adorable dog or peer into the pretty window of a florist. Little things like a delicious meal brightens up my day considerably and it is this simple innocence that we sometimes need to try and recapture. I am trying to be less cynical and judgemental day-by-day, two horrible character traits that we seem to develop in the process of growing from child to adult.

In the same vein, I think it’s perfectly acceptable to act like a silly kid most some of the time. In this bonkers picture above I was giggling madly with a friend while we watched reruns of The OC, feeling our faces going hard as rock as we tried to eat ice cream. I never really understood the quote “Youth is wasted on the young” by George Bernard Shaw, until now. We spend so much time as kids wishing we were older, wishing our years away until we finally reach adulthood and realise how bloody great and carefree those younger years were. So, every now and then, I think we should all stop and be a little bit naughty and behave like a child again.

Laugh, laugh and laugh some more

Laugh, laugh and laugh some more

