Be Surprised For Valentine’s

York-20130213-00388

fondant1

York-20130213-00389

fondant

fondant%202

I think we all get a little bogged down in the commercial and sickly side of Valentine’s Day sometimes. It isn’t just about being with a boyfriend/girlfriend/husband/wife but sometimes it’s nice to remember that love surrounds many of us in different ways. I was reminded of this when I got a surprise knock at the door this afternoon. A pretty girl handed me a small parcel and I had no idea what it could be as I was sure I hadn’t ordered anything online recently (unless I was now so addicted I was doing it in my sleep?!) Thankfully, it was actually a beautiful gift from my Mum and Dad.

A little box with ‘Betty’s’ scrawled across the front beamed at me, and I eagerly opened up the package to find four gorgeous fondant fancies. If you haven’t heard of Betty’s, it’s a famous tearoom in York and Harrogate, although it has an online store and posts baked goodies all across the UK. I haven’t touched them yet, as I am going to save them for Valentine’s Day to have with some friends and a cup of tea!

This thoughtful present reminded me that we should tell those we love, that we do in fact love them tomorrow, and make the day not just about expensive roses and chocolates but about families and friends and appreciating all those special people we are lucky enough to have in our lives.

