Eat Homemade Wagamama

beef

beef2-1

As part of my health-kick and a general desire to cook something other than boring old pasta,I decided to whip up a delicious dish from the Wagamama’s cookery book last night. I had just about the right ingredients, replacing and adding a couple of my own here and there, but the finished result was absolutely delicious and very healthy. I urge you all to give this a go! I guess you could replace the beef with chicken if you wanted, or even just lots more vegetables if you are a veggie. It’s easy to mix and match with this recipe, as long as you have the two key ingredients, soy sauce and sesame oil I think you’re good to go!

The recipe I used myself was as follows (I doubled the Wagamama amounts as I was cooking for two):

2 x 150g Amoy Straight to Wok Medium Noodles (instead of udon noodles)

400g beef steaks, sliced up

2 tablespoons cornflour

salt and pepper

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

3cm ginger root, peeled and grated

4-5 handfuls of spinach

1 onion sliced up roughly

2 tablespoons soy sauce (dark)

4 teaspoons toasted sesame oil

I added to the recipe: 1 red pepper, sliced and a packet of tenderstem broccoli

The Wagamama’s recipe calls for some red chilli, spring onions instead of an ordinary onion and some sesame seeds to be fried  and sprinkled over the top of the meal, however as I didn’t have these ingredients I either replaced them or left them out!

I started by putting the beef, cornflour and salt and pepper in a plastic bag and tossing the meat to coat. I placed this to one side

Then I heated up my big frying pan (I don’t have a wok) with a couple of tablespoons of oil and added the ginger to cook for 30 seconds or so

I then added the red pepper and broccoli and let this fry for about 5 minutes

Next I put the marinaded beef into the hot frying pan for 2 minutes until it was just cooked

Next in went the spinach, onion, 2 tablespoons of water

Toss everything for 1 minute so everything is just wilted

Add the soy sauce and check the seasoning is to your liking

If you’re using Amoy noodles as I did, you don’t need to cook these before hand like you do if using udon noodles, so just throw these in now and they will cook in a couple of minutes

Toss to ensure everything is combined and finally finish with your toasted sesame oil

Mmmmmm scrumptious!!

beef3

beef4

beef5

beef6

