Be Grateful For My Rubbish Phone

phone

Take the title of this blog post with a pinch of salt — I realise my phone is a pretty good phone, it’s not the Nokia brick I sported  for many a year once upon a time, however it’s not quite on the same level as the iPhones or Samsung Galaxy smart phones and for that, surprisingly, I am ever so grateful. Controversial or what?

The reason for this bold statement, is that although it is occasionally a little irritating not having Instagram or the mobile-friendly Facebook right at my finger tips, that is a small price to pay for the fact that in return I have precious real life time to spend. I am not photographing every aspect of my life, I am actually living it and taking a mental photograph of my experience which I will remember forever. What I’m saying is quite controversial, especially in this age of social media where in many situations our phones are saving graces. We can blog, tweet, instagram, follow others from anywhere. We don’t need to be tied to our desks to maintain our social reputation. However all too often that spills over into becoming obsessive, and then I find myself having a conversation with the back of my friend’s phone.

And some people just don’t see a problem with it. I find it immensely rude, and if I catch myself reading a tweet or replying to a comment in the presence of a friend, I apologise profusely and get the job over with as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, too many people these days forget about real life. They are engrossed in the sugary, pixellated world of the internet and get lost in it. There is a fine line between being busy/(social)networking and plain antisocial.

Blackberry’s are on the way out — everybody knows that. Their sales have dropped radically and when I see somebody else with one, it comes as a surprise since everybody has an iPhone these days. Part of the problem with the Blackberry is that they don’t have all the tempting apps-to-improve-my-life like Apple do. However, somehow I am managing. I can still make ‘to do lists’ and I can tweet – albeit on a far smaller screen than an iPhone which makes the process quite annoying and short-lived.

I’m sure one day, when my contract comes to an end, the opportunity will arise for me to have an iPhone or other form of amazing phone with all the bells and whistles. However, for now, I am going to really enjoy having a phone that is limited. I can’t edit photos like my friends can or sit and watch YouTube videos or ‘snapchat’, but I quite like that. Not having those unnecessary apps in my life means I actually spend those minutes focussing on the tangible.

