Take Part In The No Make-up Challenge

no%20make-up

Disclaimer: Apologies if this make-up free face offends anyone!

Wearing no make-up is scary enough. Taking photographs of yourself without a jot of make up on (bar a lick of mascara) brings a whole new meaning to the word.

In this photograph I am wearing no make-up. Apart from a lick of mascara (honestly, it is for the public’s benefit that I do something to those dodgy eyelashes) and some moisturiser my face is free from cosmetics. This is in a bid to give my skin a chance to breathe for a few weeks, while I am home from university. I have set myself a ‘No Make-up Challenge’ for as much of my Easter break as I possibly can. It won’t be easy and I may not stick to it every single day, but I am going to try my absolute hardest to only use mascara and not cloggy foundations or powders.

When I am university I become very lazy. I tend to put on make-up every single day because of course, make-up is a lift and makes us feel better about ourselves, myself included. I have a routine of moisturiser, foundation, powder, bronzer, highlighter, then my eye makeup and sometimes later on in the evening I will top up. Unfortunately, by the time bedtime comes, I am often so knackered-slash-lazy that I don’t bother taking all of that make up off. I know that this is very bad for my skin and when I wake up in the morning I can feel that. My eyes are heavy and sore and while I’ve been lucky with my skin, my bad ways are starting to take their toll with blemishes and spots appearing.

While at home I have decided to start taking better care of my biggest organ, my skin, and here’s what I’m going to do:

– As I am not around friends/boyfriend 24/7 I can afford to look like the Bride of Frankenstein from time to time without worrying. This means I can lay off the heavy make-up and I will do my utmost to try to stick to just mascara

– I will start my cleansing routine again, with my Liz Earle toner and Cleanse & Polish products. After using these, I will splash cold water on my face and then use a thin layer of moisturiser

– If I do have an ocassion where a little bit of make-up is necessary I will take every trace of it off before I go to sleep

– Even though mascara is the only product I aim to use for the next few weeks, I will still try not to use too much or curl my eyelashes too much. They deserve a break to

By the end of the next few weeks, I hope that my skin will look rejuvenated and I will reap the benefits of not having covered my face in anything unnatural. Why don’t you join in and see if you can go one or two days a week with ZERO make-up on?!

