Improve Your Skin Naturally

facemask2

IMG_7089

As part of my no make up challenge, I have been researching lots of natural face masks that I could easily whip up at home and slather over my face in an attempt to rejuvenate my skin the old-fashioned way. After a bit of browsing, I came across a recipe which very simply involved avocado and honey – two ingredients that most people have in their fridge/cupboard. You mix half an avocado with a good squeeze of honey (raw, unpasteurized is best) – 1tbsp I guess if you want to be precise – and voila.

That may look like guacamole in the bowl, however there is more to avocado than just that delicious dip. Its oil is patented as a treatment for some forms of dermatitis and arthritis and long-term treatment helps relieve eczema. Avocado oil is rich in vitamins A, D and E, all of which help maintain healthy skin. Itchy, red or irritated areas are soothed by avocado and it is amazing for dry skin which is exactly what I suffer from.

Honey’s benefits? Maintaining the skin’s natural moisture, exfoliant, promotes new tissue growth and is an antiseptic. The difference you will see in your skin after using honey as your cleanser for a few weeks will be enough to turn you off of pricey branded cleansers for good, trust me. The success stories are endless if you do a little research.

I’m going to stop harping on about the wonders of these natural ingredients, just try them for yourselves and keep at it for a at least a week or two if you can. You will notice a difference.

