Have A Bone To Pick With Monday

Courtesy of anthologymag.com

[Courtesy of anthologymag.com] This is where I should have stayed!

You know those days when you wish you hadn’t left the bed? Today is one of those days. After getting up to head into Brighton with my Macbook which has been on the blink recently due to a failing hard-drive, I parked in the car park and this is where things started to go down hill.

Although I have made an appointment at the Apple shop for tomorrow anyway, I thought I’d take my chances and see if there was any chance of squeezing me in to upload the LION software onto my laptop. The man at the entrance to the shop didn’t even look up from his iPad and just told me there was no way I was going to get seen by anyway without an appointment. Great. The only reason I trekked into bloody Brighton and this man who didn’t even have the decency to look at me in the eye cut me dead.

So as not to make the trip totally pointless, I headed over to the library to pick up a book for my essay – the whole reason for my urgency to get my laptop fixed: my life is on there and I need to get moving with this uni essay. After a lot of searching I finally came across the book I needed, which was a mini success I was going to absolutely relish.

Next up, however, came the joy of going into Infinity Foods to pick up some salad bits and bobs for Mum. I really like Infinity Foods. The staff are lovely and if you need any inspiration to become a veggie/vegan then this is the place to come. Well, apparently everyone in the place had forgotten how to use the words ‘excuse me’, ‘sorry’ or ‘thank you’ and I just found myself getting extremely pissed off. In fact, I actually felt invisible as people pushed past me, or didn’t acknowledge me when I let them through. It is enough to make your blood boil.

On the drive home, I was attempting to be mildly intellectual and listen to Jeremy Vine on Radio 2, which I really enjoy because he always has great debates. Unfortunately the car had other ideas. Every two minutes, no exaggeration, the radio would switch to BBC Radio 4. Trying to keep up with what Jezza was saying was turning into a complete nightmare and I found myself shouting very loudly and very angrily at the radio.

Frankly, staying in bed would have been about as productive and less stressful than my day has been so far.

