Have A Tattoo

tattoo-1

I love tattoos. I know some people think of them as ‘scarring your body’ and would need to deliberate months if not years before getting one, but the way I see it, life is too short and if you fall in love with a design that means something to you (exception: boyfriends/girlfriends names – just NO) then you should go ahead and do it.

I only have a small star on my wrist so far and would love to get some more, I just haven’t had the urge/don’t know what I would like yet. I was only 15 when I got my tattoo (naughtily three years underage) and said to my Mum that I was going to go with or without her but I’d rather she came with me. My Mum’s view was that if it could be covered up then she was OK with it and preferred that to getting my belly button pierced. We went together one Autumn day and admittedly the place I got my tattoo wasn’t ideal (the hint being the fact that they’d tattoo me without ID) and my only advice now would be to wait until you are over 18 and can go somewhere very professional to get your first ink.

I was so nervous in the waiting room, that my Mum turned to me and said, “Well I’ll get one with you then!” and so it was decided that we would both get a small star on the inside of our left wrist. We went into the back room of the tattoo parlour, were handed a lollipop and entertained with Spongebob Squarepants on the TV (I think the only time I’ve ever watched it) and in about two minutes flat the job was done. I was so happy with it then, and I’m still happy with it now. It’s something my Mum and I did together and she’s gone on to get a couple more stars next to her original one.

Obviously there are people who regret their tattoos; they get them done when they’re drunk/at horrible places that do a shoddy job/don’t think about it long enough. But if thought through and inked by a pro, tattoos can be a real work of art. They tell a story and I love looking at people’s (if they don’t mind!) and hearing why they chose that particular design.

Check out The Tattoologist for inspiration/beautiful tattoos.

A tattoo can represent a significant moment in your life or it can just be a pattern that you love – I don’t think it matters and I don’t think it should be so scary. Of course there is pain involved (mine barely hurt, it felt like a slight scratch) but on a scale and obviously on boney parts of the body it will be worse. Don’t let the pain or the taboo put you off. I think tattoos can be incredibly sexy and don’t even utter the words: “But what about when you’re 65 and wrinkly?”

If I’m lucky enough to make it to that age, I won’t be getting my body out then, will I?!!

 Bloglovin’

Google +

Twitter! 

