Give Gwyneth A Whirl

As it was my last evening at home a couple of days ago, I promised Mum that I would whip up a delicious dinner for us all to enjoy. At the moment my Mum is on one of her many health kicks, so she asked if I could make one of the recipes from Gwyneth Paltrow’s new cookbook “It’s All Good”. This book is based on the ‘Elimination Diet’ which cuts out all the bad stuff (aka the stuff I adore) such as coffee, alcohol, dairy, sugar, shellfish, wheat and meat. The meals are very, very healthy and I must admit on initially flicking through I was slightly dubious at a) what half the ingredients were as I hadn’t heard of them and b) whether they actually would be yummy or whether I would have to force myself to say they are yummy just because I should. Luckily, the recipe I chose was delicious and very healthy as well. The only problem which I must warn you of, is that this isn’t for the time-hungry. This recipe in total (if you haven’t got the pasta sauce pre-made, which obviously I hadn’t) took me about an hour/hour-and-a-half from start to finish. It does produce a scrummy and very different dinner idea though, and not one I would have ever thought to put together myself.

recipe2

recipe

For the Turkey Meatballs

Serves 4, makes around 24 golf-sized meatballs
1 small onion, roughly chopped
2 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
8 fresh sage leaves
8 large fresh basil leaves
Leaves from 4 sprigs of thyme
Leaves from a 5-inch sprig of rosemary
1 large handful of rocket, roughly chopped
1 pound ground turkey
1tsp coarse sea salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
 

1. Combine the onion, garlic, herbs and rocket in the bowl of a food processor and pulse until very finely chopped

2. Transfer the mixture to a large mixing bowl along with the turkey, salt, and pepper. Use your hands to throughly combine all the ingredients

3. Roll the mixture into golf ball-sized meatballs

At the same time, place the Go-To Tomato Sauce in a large pot, set over low heat and let it get warm. Here is the recipe for that:

Go-To Tomato Sauce

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
6 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
4 large fresh basil leaves
2 tins of chopped tomatoes with their juice
Coarse sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper
 

1. Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan over low heat, add the garlic and cook for 5 minutes

2. Add 2 of the basil leaves and stir for 1 minute. Add the tomatoes with their juice and the 2 remaining basil leaves

3. Turn the heat to high. Bring the sauce to a boil, turn the heat to low, season with salt and pepper, and let it bubble away on low heat for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally and crushing the tomatoes with a wooden spoon

4. If you are making this in advance, you can keep this sauce, cooled, in an air-tight container in the fridge for one week or in the freezer for 6 months

recipe1

recipe3

recipe4

Once you have your sauce on a low heat, and it has simmered away for around 40 minutes,heat olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat

Cook the meatballs until they’re browned all over, 2-3 minutes on a side

Transfer the browned meatballs to the simmering tomato sauce and partially cover the pot. Let the meatballs cook gently for 1/2 hour, carefully stirring every now and then to make sure they’re cooking evenly. Serve hot with gluten free pasta, polenta or broccoli

recipe5

recipe6

recipe7

recipe8

recipe9

recipe11

My Mum thought she’d plonk a green pak choi on top of my dinner. All in all it was a lovely meal and though it takes some effort, the finished result is delicious and good for your insides. Thanks Gwynnie!

Bloglovin’

Google +

Twitter! 

