Read!

Courtesy of whowhatwear.com

Courtesy of whowhatwear.com

Charlotte from Charlotte’s Web mentioned a wonderful quote on her blog a few days ago and it has stuck with me:

“Date a girl who reads because you deserve it. You deserve a girl who can give you the most colorful life imaginable. If you can only give her monotony, and stale hours and half-baked proposals, then you’re better off alone. If you want the world and the worlds beyond it, date a girl who reads. 

Or better yet, date a girl who writes.”

The reason it resonated is probably partly because I study English Literature at university and because also, recently – as I mentioned in this post – I have realised the true importance of education yourself and reading. Oddly, although it is what I study at university, I struggle to read in my downtime. I spend too much time catching up on 4od and it seems that sadly, I have associated reading with ‘work’ and watching television as my ‘relaxation’, when in fact it shouldn’t be that way. As I am set some very dry reading from time to time on my course, I sometimes feel a little resistant to pick up a book in the evenings – or at least I feel guilty if I want to read a bit of an easy novel and not something my lecturers would recommend.

We all know the importance of reading and the way it makes us rounder individuals with far more to say than others. Coming to university, I know it may sound strange, but you can tell who reads from those who don’t. I don’t mean I like to hang out with people who witter on about certain subjects for hours on end because that of course becomes tedious, I just mean that it’s refreshing to spend time with someone who doesn’t just talk about social tittle-tattle/boyfriends and who can make references that only one can really make when one takes an interest in reading/learning. It broadens your horizons, widens your perspective and gives you a little more to say. As well as that, reading inspires, sparks dreams and lets your imagination run wild and I have been neglecting my imagination for a while.

I am setting myself a challenge this summer to READ MORE! And I challenge you to join me. Who doesn’t want to be a wealth of knowledge and offer someone the most “colourful life imaginable”? I certainly do!

I’ll end on a quote, in answer to Charlotte’s:

“There are worse crimes than burning books. One of them is not reading them” – Ray Bradbury

Bloglovin’

Twitter! 

Courtesy of Jill Ireland

Courtesy of Jill Ireland

